I’m dreaming of the clothes from White Christmas

It’s that time of the year again where I become obsessed with a few outfits from White Christmas

Every year after I watch it I tell myself that I’m finally going to make a skirt like the black and white check one Vera-Ellen wears with the red belt.  I searched online for what felt like forever last night trying to find an image of it.  This is all I could find.

I’m sure I could find a pattern, it’s just a matter of doing it. 

I really like the cut effect on the black dress Rosemary Clooney wears for the Carousel Club scene. 

This is not one I would want to wear, but I really like the way it looks.

Then there’s the green dress Rosemary wears for the Wrap Party/Engagement Announcement scene.  I just think it’s so pretty!

 

It’s the one in the centre between the cream and navy/grey.  This was the only image I could find of it after searching for what felt like forever.

I could probably find a pattern similar to it, but it’s the crisscrossing that I really like (besides it being velvet and dark green).

As a side note, I’ve always thought my cousin Ellie kinda looks like Vera-Ellen.

7 thoughts on “I’m dreaming of the clothes from White Christmas

  1. Amanda

    Hello, I came across your post when I was looking for White Christmas dresses. I was having the same problem trying to find certain pictures of my favorites. I have some screencaps which might help you with the green velvet dress & Judy’s skirt. All my caps are here. Feel free to take if you need.

    Reply
  2. Shannon

    OMG, I’m sitting here watching “White Christmas” right now and it’s the scene with Vera Ellen in that skirt. I want it, too. It’s so classic and sophisticated. All of the clothes in this movie are stunning.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: 2010 in review « Sheepless in Rhode Island

  4. Just Jess

    I stumbled upon this entry while searching for stock photos of Rosemary Clooney’s green dress, and Vera Ellen’s circle skirt! I tried to reproduce these for myself this Christmas season! Thanks for posting! I’m glad I’m not the only one who swoons over these dresses!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

