The Sea is Calling My Name

I yearn to go to the ocean, specifically Beavertail.  I want to have a picnic on the grass, smell the sea air, listen to the waves crashing against the rock, dip my feet in the water, look for little treasures in the small pools of water, and get sun-kissed skin (I love that smell).

 Alas my Acrophobia (fear of heights)  has altered to not being able to drive over bridges, particularly the one to get to Beavertail (Is that the Jamestown or Pell? I can never remember).  While I can now go to the edge of my porch (we live in a third floor flat), I can not do bridges.  If I didn’t have such a bad case of motion sickness, I’d like to have a boat.

 Monday is a holiday in RI, VJ Day.  Harry has it off.  I think, weather permitting, we might go.

For whatever we lose (like a you or a me),
It’s always our self we find in the sea.
~e.e. cummings

Though inland far we be,
Our souls have sight of that immortal sea
Which brought us hither.
~William Wordsworth, Intimations of Immortality

4 thoughts on “The Sea is Calling My Name

  1. Debbie R. says:

    I have never gone to Beavertail. I spent Sunday at Oakland Beach with several spinning and knitting friends. That might be an alternative and you wouldn’t have to go over any big bridges. You can fish, walk the rock wall, or just relax on the beach or in the grass. Plus Iggy’s is there with delicious food. :)

  2. Debbie R. says:

    I forgot to say you can see both Newport and Jamestown/Pell bridges from there. The view is gorgeous on a clear day.

  3. Missallissa says:

    If you do go to Oakland, I suggest you head for the far, far right end.
    It’s cleaner there, and there’s WAY less traffic.
    At least, it always was back when I used to go, it might not be the case now :)

    Can you not drive over the bridge, S, or are you to the point where you panic if you’re even a passenger?

    • Sarah says:

      I’ve never heard of Oakland. I will need to investigate.

      I can not drive over bridges. If I’m a passenger, I can not look. It helps if I’m in the back seat and distracted or not looking. It’s the only time I can sit in the back, otherwise I need to sit in the front ’cause of my motion sickness.

Leave a Reply

