Adventures with cleaning and a cup of tea

Let’s face it, generally cleaning is not fun (unless you’re perhaps OCD).  I’ve been looking for a book that would have all natural (“old timey”) cleaning solutions.  As much as I enjoy cleaning products, I hate all the fumes, chemicals, etc.  Plus being raised “granola” it’s just part of me.  :)  Missie is letting me borrow a book and it is exactly what I’ve been looking for!  I added it to my Amazon wish list on sunday (when she gave it to me).  I tried the fake flower cleaner and tub scrub today.

Salt, Lemons, Vinegar, and Baking Soda by Shea Zukowski

Artificial Flower Cleaner

1-2 cups salt (300-600g)

Fill a paper bag with 1-2 cups salt; a plastic bag works well, too, if the flowers fit.  Place the arrangement inside and secure top.  Give the bag a few gentle shakes and the salt will brush the leaves and petals free of dust.

 *I used about a 1/8 cup because I was cleaning small stuff and that’s all I had of table salt.  Wow!  It really worked.  The arrangements I had were not super dusty, but I can see the difference.  They look brighter and livelier. 

Lemon Fresh Tub Scrub

1/2 lemon

1/4 cup (55g) baking soda

Sprinkle the baking soda on the bottom of the bathtub and use the cut side of the lemon half as your scrubbing tool.  Squeeze gently to release the juices as you scrub.  The combination of lemon and baking soda will cut through even the most stubborn bathtub rings. Rinse completely when you are done. 

 *Wow!  So clean and shiny!  I would recommend wearing gloves when doing this.  I didn’t and my hands felt a bit irritated afterwords.  I used the other half of the lemon to make myself some tea.

Tea for a sore throat

I’ve been doing this since I can remember whenever I have a sore throat or cold.  It helps ease the pain of sore throats, along with lots of o.j. (as Harry calls it a “juice bomb”) and gargling (which I HATE, but do anyway).

  • boiling water
  • some lemon juice (Enough for you to taste it and it work it’s magic.  I’ve never measured it, just eyeball what I think looks good.  Probably about 2-4 teaspoons at least.)
  • honey
  • piece of ginger (optional)

Add the boiling water and lemon juice to your mug.  Stir in some honey to taste.  Add a small slice of ginger if desired.  Sip and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Adventures with cleaning and a cup of tea

Leave a Reply

