A great Spring day

I don’t know the last time we had such a beautiful first day of Spring.  Everyone we came across today seemed happy and to have a bounce in their step.  It had to have been about 70°, which for March in New England is very pleasant.  For all we know we could get snow in two weeks (knock on wood that we don’t). 

 We got up early today and headed to the Farmer’s Market in Pawtucket.  As soon as we walked in Harry managed to find a game store that sold rpg stuff.  *shakes head*  (How does he do it?)  So many people!  Neither of us was sure what there would be, so we didn’t have any ideas in mind of anything we wanted.  I did pick up a nice handmade soap for the bathroom.  It’s a very fresh, happy smelling spearmint.  Just perfect for the beginning of Spring.  I also got something that I haven’t had since I was like 7 years old.  Honeycomb!  It was a bit more than I would have liked to pay, but I plan on giving some to my mom and brother as a treat.  It’s not like I buy honeycomb all the time.  We definitely plan on going back.  There were so many booths!  On the way there, Harry said something about us being super white and then called himself a “honky”.  I couldn’t help but laugh.  It made me think of “what white people like” .  If only we were listening to NPR and not my iPod.  ;)

The honeycomb will be nice treat.  Harry’s never had any!  The guy suggested spreading it on a crusty bread and topping it off with some Asiago cheese and then heating it up.  Yum!

 

After we left there, we headed to the East Side (Providence) to see my brother so I could give him is belated birthday card and to get lunch.  After quickly seeing him (he was in the middle of work – walking dogs) we went to eat at Geoff’s.  I haven’t had one of their sandwiches in years.  Yes, we got some fresh pickles.  :)  I got “The Frigid Bitch” w/o tiger sauce and Harry got “The Rachel”. 

 

The Frigid Bitch is turkey, spinach, chive cream cheese, cucumbers and sprouts.  I got mayo instead of the tiger sauce.  The guy behind the counter recommend a roll for the bread. 

The Rachel is hot pastrami, sauerkraut, Swiss cheese and Russian dressing on rye.

I saw a few crocuses when we were going back to the car!  :)  Oh my god.  I went down one of the side streets off of Benefit Street to get to North Main.  If I could have taken a photo, I would have.  It was super steep, narrow,  and VERY New Englandy!  It looked about the right size for a hansom or horse and buggy.  One of these days, I want to find the house that Edgar Allen Poe lived in which I believe is on that street.  But I digress.

What a great first day of Spring it was!

One thought on “A great Spring day

  1. Robyn says:

    Wow, what fun! That market sounds amazing. We still need to go to some of the markets around our area.

    Mercy, both of those sandwiches sound, and look, amazing. Oh, and I’m starving. MUST NOT EAT SCREEN. IT IS NOT REALLY A SANDWICH.

Leave a Reply

