Rhode Island: The Ocean State. We take our name VERY seriously.

This is a video I took this afternoon of the Blackstone River by Main Street in Woonsocket.  I almost had it as my photo for the day.  

Worst flooding in 100 years

The Pawtuxet and Blackstone rivers are both over their flood levels, which are around 9 ft. By tonight they are both expected to be around 18 ft.  I heard they are closing Rt.95!  It’s one of the major highways through Providence.  I wonder how everyone is going to get home.  Be safe! 

*I got the Rhode Island quote from Nicki.  I had to use it, it’s too darn funny. 

ETA: From Channel 12 News

http://www.wpri.com/dpp/news/local_news/historic-floods-strike-rhode-island

ETA2: Harry corrected the title saying that the state motto is HOPE.  So…we hope the rain ends soon.

Leave a Reply

