doctor’s visit

I had a doctor’s app. today.  She was nice.  I think I’ll stick with her.  I have to go back in 6 weeks for my Pap since I started to spot last night.  She said, despite my weight, I’m pretty healthy (Yay!).  Let’s see if that’s true when I go for my blood work.  My blood pressure was a little high, I then told her I was really nervous.  So she took it again towards the end of the visit (once I relaxed) and it was normal.  I’ve never smoked (I did try clove cigarettes in my mid 20’s), gave up soda years ago, cutting down on sugar in my coffee, pretty much cut out processed foods.  She said having coffee is fine and asked how I took it.  She was more concerned about the soda.  She asked what my heaviest weight was (about 240 lbs).  I told her I try to do yoga at least once a week and go walking almost everyday for at least 20 minutes (and that I can go up to 30 now).  I explained about my back.  She said she doesn’t want to send me for another MRI just yet.  I totally forgot to mention my tendonitis and allergy concerns.  Harry said his mom always goes with his dad, so nothing is forgotten and that maybe he should go with me.  I was super nervous, had to go in the glass elevator (GAH!), and didn’t want to forget about mentioning my back issue that I forgot the other stuff.  Next time.  I need to get a tetanus shot (you’re suppose to get one every 10 years, I didn’t know that), too.  I’ll do that when I go for the blood work. 

Oh yeah…so the nurse weighted me (I didn’t pay attention to what it said, I should have) and then said, “Ok, I’m going to measure you now.”  Wait, what?  I had not been measured for my height since I hit puberty or so.  First it read as 5’6″.  I said “What?  That’s not right.”  I then took my shoes off. LOL   “You’re 5 feet 4 and 3/4 inches.  What?!  I grew!!  I always thought I was 5’4″. Huzzah!  That totally made my day.  Just a few days ago I was feeling like I shrunk.  I’m thinking that maybe Harry’s grown.  Now I can say I’m 5’5”.  Wooohoo!  ^_^

One thought on “doctor’s visit

  1. Robyn says:

    If she does not wish to send you for an MRI on your back, what does she suggest?

    Yeah, tetanus every ten years. I am due for one, too, but I have to research it because of the Remicade. There are vaccinations that I cannot receive because of it, so I have to be careful. Bleh

    Overall it seemed like a very good visit! Yes, next time ask about tendonitis and allergies. :)

Leave a Reply

