Consider the Pumpkins of the Field*

Halloween will be upon us before we know it and I still don’t know what I want to do this year.  Our friends announced back in the spring that this year’s theme is “Obscure Reference”.  Before it they told us, Harry and I decided that this year we are going to go as something people know.  We tend to go as people no one gets (Last year we were characters from Godspell). 

Harry said it best in his post  “What constitutes obscure? Are we talking obscure within our group of friends? Obscure to the Joe in the street? Obscure to my mom?”  This has left me in quite the conundrum.  Do I want to go with super obscure?  Do I want people to be able to figure out my costume?  Do I want it to be funny?  Do I care if it’s flattering?

For literary characters I’ve thought of Trillion, Karrin Murphy, and someone (either the aunt or a love interest) from the Jeeves & Wooster series.

For old movie characters I’ve thought of Gidget, and just a random search for old movie actresses. 

So, without further ado here’s the poll.

  * Thank you Harry for the perfect title.

11 thoughts on “Consider the Pumpkins of the Field*

  1. Nicki says:

    Just wanted to remind you that it doesn’t HAVE to be obscure. If you had/have your heart set on something else, that’s totally cool. D likes theme parties (hehe, who knew?) & we also figured it helps people narrow down what they want to be if they have literally no idea :)
    And on the do you care if it’s flattering front–uuuh, have you SEEN some of my costumes? lol It’s more fun if it’s not flattering!
    Happy deciding :)

    • Sarah says:

      At this point I will not be able to do what I was originally thinking. However while not obscure to our group of friends, it would be to the general public. No, I’m not going to say just in case I end up doing it sometime. ;)

      The majority of my ideas are not flattering. So, I guess that doesn’t matter. I thought ypu were great as The Log Lady (btw, that was a costume I always wanted to do)!

      It’s fun trying to think of ideas. I don’t even know how I’ll be feeling by then, so we shall see.

  2. Robyn says:

    I voted for Daria. I also like the idea of a literary character or an old movie character.

    As to flattering or not… Personally, I do not have the self confidence to do unflattering. But that is me. You have to do what you feel comfortable with.

  3. ~m says:

    I’m not voting for it, I just wanted to add:
    omg, Mrs. freaking Slocombe costume for the win!
    One day, when we are genuine old ladies,
    we should all go as an army of mrs. Slocombii one Halloween, lol.

    Also, if you were the Spanish inquisition, would you bring a soft pillow? ^^
    Would you feed us cake? Because if so, I know what Matt will vote for, lol.

    • Sarah says:

      I still owe Matt a peach cobbler! An Army of Mrs. Slocombii with different coloured hair would be fantastic AND creepy. ^_^ RE: SI I prefer to go as Col.Fang, the one with aviator’s hat.

    • Sarah says:

      I seriuosly thought someone was the log lady. Maybe I should do it for my costume, though it would require a prop, which I don’t want.

  4. Nicki says:

    D & I have had our costumes picked out for a couple months. It could be very funny. :)

    I also like the idea of Daria–I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Daria costume. Plus, that’d be pretty easy, too. You’d just have to get some monotone one-liners down :)

Leave a Reply

