Reading Recommendations?

It’s getting to be that time of year again where one thinks of bats, pumpkins and things that go bump in the night.

I am looking for any recommendations for Autumny/Halloweeny reading. 

I’ve read Portrait of Dorian Gray (Missie’s suggestion), Haunting of Hill House (thanks to Harry), We’ve Always Lived in the Castle (Missie and Harry), Dracula (I think I was in h.s.), almost everything by Anne Rice.  I’m in the middle of the Dresden Files (getting close to finishing).  I just started Dead Witch Walking last week.

What do you like to read when the weather gets cooler?

 

10 thoughts on “Reading Recommendations?

    • Sarah says:

      I do like Hellboy, but I can just borrow those from you. ;) From what I remember reading eons ago of The Walking Dead, I did enjoy it. Thanks for the suggestion!

  1. Missie says:

    I’ve got a whole range of October favourites, as you know ^^
    Wuthering Heights almost every year. But I wouldn’t recommend WH unless you enjoy Victorian lit.
    James’ the Turn of the Screw is another favourite, but I’m not sure everyone would find it particularly scary. It’s very understated.
    The intro is nicely spooky. it starts with the British tradition of telling ghost stories around the fire on Christmas Eve.
    http://www.online-literature.com/henry_james/turn_screw/0/

    I just read a new one– “the Signalman”, by Charles Dickens.
    Brief, well written, very creepy in a tragic way.
    There’s a nicely made audio track,
    available in MP3 format for 89 cents on Amazon.

    http://www.amazon.com/Charles-Dickens-Signalman-Other-Ghostly/dp/B003RKMVR0/ref=sr_shvl_album_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1284663358&sr=301-3

    • Sarah says:

      Yeah, I want to like Victorian Lit, but find it just too darn wordy. I’ve read a Brontë story, but don’t recall which one. I’ve never read any Charles Dickens. I plan on (finally) reading A Christmas Carol this December, since I love the play.

      I knew you’d have a few suggestions. Thank you! ^_^

  2. Debbie R. says:

    Autumn/Fall has me thinking of apple orchards, pumpkins, hot cider with that lovely cinnamon smell, fiber festivals, the cooler days that mean wearing a sweater or light jacket, leaves turning colors, and bonfires. I guess you can see why it’s my favorite time of year.

  3. Debbie R. says:

    I don’t have any suggestions for reading. I read mostly everything all year.

    Since you like Ann Rice, you might like the Blackwood Farm which ties the Vampire Chronicles and Mayfair Witch series together if you haven’t read them already.

    Don’t forget the oldie, Amityville Horror.

    • Sarah says:

      I read all sorts of things year round, but every year around now I find myself wanting to read something kinda Halloweeny. :)

      I’ve read all the Mayfair Witch ones and one of the Blackwood Farm. I’m so done with Anne Rice, but thanks anyway.

      Amityville is a book? I don’t know. Just a little to real and scary for me. I’ve never seen the movie and don’t plan on it. I’ve lived in a house that had a ghost so I’m all set.

  4. Marianne says:

    I don’t know if you like vampire books, but The Passage by Justin Cronin, The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova and The Strain by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan are all gripping.

  5. Debbie R. says:

    How about “The Journals of Eleanor Druse” and she is the author. Stephen King based his mini series Kingdom Hospital on this journal and his accident when he got hit by the van..

Leave a Reply

