At least I didn’t pay for it

I just got done listening to my first audiobook.  I’m not sure I liked it (the audiobook experience).  I didn’t feel I fully comprehended everything (I am a visual/hands-on kinda person). 

The book….Twilight.  e_e   Wow!  What a horribly written book.   Sorry to any fans out there, but in my opinion it is one of the worst things I’ve ever “read”.  Charlotte Sometimes, which is a “children’s book” is better. 

You know how when you learn a new word so you want to use it all the time?  That’s how Stephanie Meyer must have felt about the word insidious.  It felt like every other (and sometimes every single) paragraph had the word.  She must have thought she sounded smart using it, but it comes across as immature and not well-edited.  Bella’s (the plain Jane-can’t dance-clumsy-girl) reactions to everything is not realistic.  When Edward (the perfectly chisled-Adonis-model-vampire) admits that he’s a vampire, she has a blasé reaction.  No shock, no worry, no being scared about that fact that he’s a blood-drinking-undead-person-who-kills!  Bwaaah?  What’s wrong with you?!  Then when Edward admits he sneaks into her house (before they were an item!) she doesn’t think anything of it.  Heeeeeellllllllooooooo!  That’s creepy and stalkerish!  Ugh!  The reason the Vamps don’t go out in the daytime?  They sparkle like diamonds!  What the fuck is that?!  Not exactly the terrifying creatures of the night.  The ending is just weird. 

I wanted to know what the big deal was, and I just don’t get it.  I’ll probably end up watching the movie while dog sitting  just to compare.  It’s like a car wreck, I can’t help by stare.

2 thoughts on “At least I didn’t pay for it

  1. Marianne says:

    I red Twilight and was instantly hooked – I read it in about a day, and I think that the plot overwhelmed the bad writing. A few months later I tried to listen to the audiobook on a car trip and the bad writing stuck out like a sore thumb, it was un-listenable.

Leave a Reply

