Taking Back the Fall

Years ago I had written something about ‘Taking Back the Fall’ .  I have no idea where it is.  I might have lost it in when we got the new computer.  Basically I said how sick I am of Christmas is encroaching on Halloween.   How I hate having to see Christmas stuff out in stores in September or so.  It’s still quite relevent to how I feel today, if not more so. 

Harry’s mom asked me two weeks ago what video games he wanted for Christmas which is got me really thinking about this whole thing.  Yesterday I was in a store and heard holiday music.   

Let’s all enjoy the Autumn for what it is. 

This year I am going to do my darndest to avoid Christmas until around Thanksgiving or so (including not purchasing online). Let us all take a pledge to not rush things and enjoy the time we have now, and therefore appreciate the season when it’s the correct time!  Technically the Christmas season starts on Christmas day, but who am I to be nit-picky.

I’m not the only person who feels this way.

Don’t get me wrong…I like Christmas!  A lot.  I guess that’s why I feel so strongly.  The more retailers do this, the more it’s going make me hate Christmas.  Which is one very good reason I can never ever work  in retail again.

Leave a Reply

