Confused and Overwhelmed

Our apartment building burned down today.  We’ve lost just about everything except what was on our backs and the computer tower.  I have no idea if Dante and Isabella are ok.  The last I heard all the cats (from the building) are at the pound being checked out.

We staying at Harry’s parents for now.  We’ve gotten several offers for temporary living situations.  Harry’s sister Lisa took us shopping this evening for some clothes. My brother has even set up a fund to help us.

We didn’t ask for anything.  Everyone has been very helpful and generous.  Thank you from the bottom of our hearts to everyone who has given us clothes, books, toiletries, anything really.

I’m not counting on being allowed back in the building or being able to retrieve anything (if it’s not water/smoke/fire damaged).

We have no idea how it started.  We are pretty certain it started on the second floor rear (we are were the third floor front).  I contemplated taking a picture, but just couldn’t bring myself to do it.

Like I said to Harry “Yeah I wanted to pair down, but not this way.”

Harry managed to grab our computer tower.  I grabbed my purse and coat.  We tried looking for the cats, but we had to get out.  Harry was wearing a tshirt, jeans and socks when we got outside.  I had just taken a shower and gotten dressed (I never got to brush my teeth).  I was wearing a long sleeved shirt, socks, jeans and slippers (plus the coat I grabbed).

Most of my Christmas gifts for Harry were in my closet.  (His big gift is being shipped to my inlaws due to our mailboxes being too small.)  I was just organizing them last night.

GoddamnmotherfuckingcocksuckerssonsofbitchesBumpuses!

8 thoughts on “Confused and Overwhelmed

  1. Debbie R. says:

    OMG! I’m so sorry to hear this. I’m glad you got out o.k. I hope Dante and Isabella are o.k. I’m sitting here tearing up thinking about you. My prayers and good thoughts are with you. (hugs to both of you)

  2. missie says:

    I’m running a paper sale in my shop.
    Proceeds will go towards getting replacement glasses for Sarah.

    One dollar and change gets you a plain post card
    with a simple ink sketch on it!

    Click the “she counts crows etsy shop” link in the sidebar, and look for photo of a flower.

  3. Laurie says:

    Hi Sarah,
    Bryan B. just posted this on facebook – I am so sorry. I sent a message through the paypal thing your brother set up. I have an extra wooden end table – it is in great condition – just sat next to my chair and is now just sitting my basement if you would like it. I will look around for other things too.

  4. pattiblaine says:

    Sarah, I’ve been away and totally missed this news until this morning! I’m shocked and so sad. I love that your friends and family have rallied around you and are lifting you up out of this. Let them! (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

