things and stuff

We had our Housewarming, but Not too Warm party a few weeks ago. We had more people here than we could have ever fit in our old place! It was so nice for everyone to come celebrate the start of our new lives in our new place.

The reading corner now has a lamp and today we picked up a small blue mosaic table. We have some art up, too.

Cole is adjusting well. He’s a funny, weird guy. He will walk in front of me and tilt his head back so he can watch me behind him. After he kills his toy he walks around the place looking for a place to bury it. It’s absolutely adorable. He prefers the water from the tub faucet than from his bowl. He’s also a morning cat. He wakes us up almost every day around 9AM (too early for us, Harry works 2nd shift) with crazy purring while sitting on one of our pillows so he’s really loud.

Last tuesday night when leaving to get Harry from work my right foot gave out and twisted. I slipped and fell down a stair to the 2nd floor landing. I managed to stand up and make it out to the car, hobbling all the way there. I drove the 10 minutes to Harry’s work, but he drove home. It hurt, A LOT. My first thought was “Fuck, I think I sprained my ankle” followed quickly by “I hope I didn’t sprain my ankle.” (I had sprained my right ankle a week from turning 13 (1987) during spring break. Back then there was a shoe store on the first floor of the Empire State Building. My foot gave out when I was on the small flight of stairs in the store.) This time didn’t hurt as much as the first (or my body is more used to pain now). So wednesday we went to Urgent Care and I got it looked at. I was pretending to be a zombie when I was ambulating to the x-ray room  and said “Braaaains” when going past the desk. Harry yelled “Don’t do that in hospitals!”

I can kinda sorta walk normalish now. I tried driving a short distance today. My ankle was telling me it’s not a good idea, though. I hope it heals soon. I don’t want to be gimpy for my birthday.

Leave a Reply

