There goes another part of the city’s heritage and culture

Once again a mill has burned down.

http://www.wpri.com/dpp/news/local_news/blackstone/crews-battle-mill-fire-on-fairmount-ave-in-woonsocket

I hope everyone is safe and okay. There are houses near the mill. There was a really cool iron gate in front of it that I always wanted to photograph.

 

Update (6/10/11):

The people who had recently purchased the building were doing work and there was an accident w/ a blow torch or some such devise.

4 thoughts on “There goes another part of the city’s heritage and culture

  1. ~m says:

    Guess who was across the street when it was starting?
    I’m going to try to post photos tomorrow if I have time.

    btw, I drove by today after teaching. They’re stiull dumping tons of water in there, but Good news!– The gate is still intact, as is that gorgeous little English-style office building– you know, the one with the ivy? =*) I’m so glad, it’s one of my favourite pieces of architecture in the town!

  2. Nicki says:

    M, I’m so glad that little office/house is ok! I loved this mill & that office was definitely part of the reason why.
    Dear Woonsocket,
    Stop burning down your mills. STOP. IT.

    • Sarah says:

      I’ve heard that it was an accident involving the people that recently purchased it. I have edited the post to include that info.

Leave a Reply

