Today in History

Today is the 34th anniversary of the Blizzard of ’78. Wow, 34 years. I remember I made a tunnel with my brother from our back door to our sandbox. How were an almost 4 and almost 2-year-old able to make a tunnel, I’m not sure, but I do have vague memories of it. I also remember running out of Teddy Peanut Butter and walking in middle of the street to get to Almacs.

When my father passed away we were going through all his photos (he was a photographer and had a darkroom in the basement when I was growing up) and came across some he took during the blizzard. It was the first time any of us ever saw the photos. I’m glad I scanned them when I did because I’m not sure if the originals survived the fire.

The Scottie that’s running on the left side of bottom photo is Jennie McWaggit. My parents got her a few months after I was born. She was the best dog ever.

4 thoughts on “Today in History

  1. creativenoshing says:

    I love your stories and pictures and recipes! Keep up the good work.

    I wanted to let you know I awarded you the Liebster Blog Award. Love your posts and I hope to bring more traffic to your site. If you’ve not seen it on other people’s blogs recently, it’s basically a little award for great blogs with under 200 followers. You can now choose up to 5 other blogs to pass the award on to. See my blog here for details!
    http://creativenoshing.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

