Sunday Brunch: crepes

To celebrate the Eiffel Tower’s birthday we decided to have crepes for brunch.

The first time I ever had a crepe was in Paris on our honeymoon. Yes, really. There was a little creperie kiosk by the Eiffel Tower that I got it from. I had ordered “Un crepe de chocolat”. Harry and I started walking down the Seine away from the Eiffel. I told Harry “Someday I’d like to try a Nutella crepe” and then I took a bite from the nice hot one in my hand. Hm. “That’s weird, it doesn’t taste right”, I thought.

I took another bite. Holy crap! I got a Nutella crepe, not a chocolate one! I had noticed on the sign with the flavours that it said “chocolat” and “cocoa chocolat”. I thought it was odd, but didn’t question it. Not to mention Harry wasn’t next to me then, so I couldn’t ask him (being much better at French than I am). Nutella is chocolate and chocolate is cocoa chocolate! Silly French.

I finally got my chocolate (and strawberry) crepe last summer at the Creperie in Providence. I think I was with Miss Missie.

Harry took this photo when he went up the Eiffel Tower. The red arrow is pointing to the kiosk where I got my crepe. :)

We use the recipe in the Good Housekeeping Cookbook. We have an immersion blender which makes things very easy.

Basic Crepes
from Good Housekeeping Cookbook

3 large eggs
1½ c milk
4 T butter or margarine, melted
²/³ c all-purpose flour
½ t salt

In a blender, blend eggs, milk, 2 T butter, flour, and salt until smooth, scraping down the sides of blender. Let sit for about 30 minutes.

Heat a non-stick 10″ skillet over medium-heat. Place rest of the butter in pan. The batter may have separated a little. If so, whisk until throughly combined. Pour about ¼ cup batter into skillet; tilt pan to coat bottom completely with batter. Cook crepe until top is set and underside is lightly browned, about 1½ minutes.

With rubber or silicon spatula, loosen edge of crepe; turn over. Cook until second side has browned, about 30 seconds. Repeat with remaining batter, adding more butter as needed. Place crepes on a plate.

The book suggests stacking crepes on a plate with waxed paper on it, and a sheet between each crepe. We’ve never done that. We just put them on a plate and cover with aluminum foil.

What I like on crepes in no particular order: Nutella, Nutella and strawberries, Nutella and Marmalade, fresh fruit – strawberries, mango, raspberries, ham and cheese; ham, cheese and chives or dill; bacon, chives and cheese; bacon, chives, skillet cooked cherry tomatoes (one of the combos we had on Sunday); fresh fruit and yoghurt, fresh fruit and whipped cream. I think that’s all the combos I’ve had at home so far. Nutella and Champagne mango is okay (it’s a combo I tried on Sunday).

One thought on “Sunday Brunch: crepes

  1. Herman says:

    Never tried Nutella on my crepes. I’m always eating it with heavy syrup or all kinds of sugar. Going to give it a try next time…

Leave a Reply

