Sunday Brunch: spring holiday edition

For me Easter is all about the ham, candy, bunny bread and ‘Yay its Spring’!

I forgot the camera at home, so I did not get any photos when we were out.

At my mom’s we had ham, fresh homemade challah, green salad, orange-red onion salad (marinated in a vinaigrette), roasted potatoes (one with mustard and one more plain for me) and carrots, asparagus (which I avoided), deviled eggs, green beans.

Since we have my family and Harry’s to see that day, I decided we’d bring dessert (easy to split in half for each family). We made Lemonade Cupcakes with Raspberry Frosting, a recipe I found on Pinterest.

The cupcake itself is a bit more dense than I was expecting, but a lovely subtle lemon flavour. The frosting. Oh the frosting. We had a heck of a time with it. It initially was way to buttery and it just wasn’t coming together just right. It took a bit of work but we got it. For me, it wasn’t raspberry tasting enough. If/when I make this again, I’d like to make a strawberry frosting and see how that goes.

Bunny bread you are asking. What is that? Awesome, that’s what!

(taken monday morning)

My mom has made Bunny Bread for Easter since I can remember. They are a sweet bread with a lemon glaze. I have yet to make any on my own. When my brother and I were old enough, we’d help twist the dough into the bunny shape and make the roll for the tail. My favourite way to have them is with eggs over easy. It’s perfect for sopping up the yolk. :)

Leave a Reply

