Art Date

Today Harry and I had an art date. We had one a few months ago and he’s been wanting to do another one for a while. Since it’s a long weekend and we had no plans, today was a perfect day for it. You can read about what Harry drew here.

For those who really know me, yes it’s a big step to share my drawings. I am not confident in my drawing skills at all, despite years of art classes as a youth, and my mom being a former Art teacher.

Harry recently purchased a nice set of Micron pens that included a brush tip pen. He knew I’d want to try the brush pen and he was right. First I just did a few doodles to get the feel of the pen. Once I felt comfortable with it, I knew what I wanted to draw. A fat, round cat reminiscent of Woot Shirt’s coffee stain cat t-shirt. (It’s one of the shirts I lost in the fire that kick myself for not grabbing it when I should have.)

I really like the brush pen. It flows very nicely.

I’ve craved Bun Thit Noung Cha Gio for about a week now. (By the way…probably my favourite food ever. I could eat it all the time. So good!) So I drew myself getting a big bowl of it at Vohn’s, our favourite Asian food restaurant.

The proportions and perspective are off. The right hand and fingers (hands are by far the hardest things to draw) are horrible. However, I’m pretty happy with how it came out. I initially wanted it to be me actually eating the Bun Thit, but was not sure how to go about doing the perspective of the head tilted down and holding chopsticks. As I was envisioning the drawing, I had My Neighbors the Yamadas style in mind. Incidentally, that’s the movie that introduced me to the Basho’s haiku. :)

Lastly, I have a little still life of one of my favourite things…coffee.

Eh, it’s okay. I agree with Harry that Le Plume markers are kinda crap. I don’t like them at all. They are what I used for the blue, brown and pink. For the mug, swirl and steam I used the brush pen. For the outline of the table I used the graphic pen.

I see a trip to ASW during Harry’s vacation time to check out some alcohol based markers.

6 thoughts on “Art Date

Leave a Reply

