Day 20, 30 DPC 2012

Wow, only ten days left! This has gone by quickly. Today I started following WordPress Photo A Week, so it seems I’ll be posting a photo a week shortly.

What I Read

I have checked out from the library Lost on Planet China by J. Maarten Troost and the manga Love Hina vol. 13 by Ken Akamatsu.

The first Troost book I read was Sex Lives of Cannibals about two years ago (maybe more?). Reading it, it made me realized I would never, ever want to live on an equatorial atoll. Last summer I read Getting Stoned with Savages. A fun read as well, but I like Cannibals more. I am enjoying Planet China very much.

Growing up in the 80s here in America we heard that Mao Zedong was a horrible person, but for me, I never fully understood or knew to what extent. I had no idea he had all the birds killed, or about the famine due to the grain being exported. This book gives me great insight how life is in modern day China.

Love Hina. Aahh. What to say. It’s the Japan of my dreams along with Fruits Basket, Ouran High School Host Club, School Rumble and any Hayao Miyazaki movie. Harry introduced me to the anime well over ten years ago. It’s just taken me that long to finally read the manga to be able to compare them.

2 thoughts on “Day 20, 30 DPC 2012

    • Sarah says:

      My sister-in-law is Chinese and I recently got to talk to her about the book and what I’ve been reading.

      When I mentioned the general lack of personal space, and shoving to get onto trains, etc. she replied with “You have to or you will get left behind”.

Leave a Reply

