An Embarrassment of Peaches or Why I Love This Time of Year

As I mentioned in my last post we went to the Cape Monday to visit some family. When we were leaving my uncle gave us some peaches. He gave us about a dozen! Yum! Peaches are one of my favourite fruits, but I only like them fresh.

Wow. Best peaches I’ve had a in a long time! So juicy that it’s dripping down your arm and sweet. Just like I remember them tasting when I was a kid. What is up with fruit from the market just not tasting right? Really. It’s almost flavourless and anemic and sad. It just makes me even more excited for this time of year.

I love this time of year. The farmer’s market is a bounty of fruits and veggies. This week I got a couple handfuls of green beans, purple bell pepper, one ear of corn, musk melon and a little adorable watermelon. I’ve always wanted to get a little watermelon. Squeee!

Cole loves his veggies, too. Especially, corn husk. No, really, we have to hide corn from him or he will eat the corn husks.

2 thoughts on “An Embarrassment of Peaches or Why I Love This Time of Year

Leave a Reply

