Bird Watching

We get a lot of birds around us. I am trying to learn what the different smaller birds are. I can recognize blue jays, robins, crows, chickadees and cardinals. A lot of times I will just call small grey birds finches. Some day I would like to get a bird feeder and a book to help myself learn what the different birds are. For now, I will rely on friends.

A few days ago I was able to get a couple of quick shots through a window of something I did not recall seeing around here. Turns out it is a starling. Well, I’m pretty sure they are starlings. If anyone knows otherwise, please let me know.

birds conversing

bird chirping

We had a good view of something hanging out in the tree next to the building since the leaves are not full yet. Better camera means better photos, even through the bathroom window.

bird 1 wm

bird 2 wm

I am thinking it is a chickadee. Again, if anyone knows otherwise, please let me know.

Cole even got in the bird watching this time.

cole watching birds wm

 

5 thoughts on “Bird Watching

  1. Missie says:

    Ooh, birdwatching! fun =)
    since I have a few minutes in the middle of the night–

    Yes, you’re right, those are indeed starlings.
    And if you get a birdfeeder well established, you may get a surprise.

    I had never knowingly seen a starling before, and the name and their poetic appearances in literature and song made me imagine something really delicate, something pretty and charming (and some of them do look beautiful. There’s a lot of variety among types.)
    So imagine my surprise when, looking them up, I discovered that the huge, loud-ass crowds of birds that would sometimes abruptly show up and gorge themselves/throw crap around/fight until our windowside feeders were empty and sometimes damaged were starlings, lol! They drop in like a lumpy piebald blizzard, scream, fight, stuff their faces, and then all rush off leaving devastation.
    It’s like when the Bumpuses’ dogs get in and eat the Christmas turkey.
    They’re very interesting birds, but a flock of them will loudly empty your feeders in literally seconds.

    That’s not a chickadee– chickadees are chubby and cute, and have this distinctive dark pattern on their faces. What you have there looks to me like it could be a Mockingbird.
    If so, good for you! We sometimes get one near our house, and they’re gorgeous singers with huge repertoires of mimicry. haha, sometimes you’ll hear an imitation of a car alarm mixed in with everything else =) Sound a treat!

    okey, babies are asleep. Back to bed with me!

  2. acuriousgal says:

    Great pics, Sarah. I’m thinking that bottom bird is a Catbird. Is it grey with a black stripe on the top of its head. If it is, how cute that your adorable cat is watching it😂😂😀

Leave a Reply

