Leveling Up

I recently decided I wanted to knit a cowl. I have claustrophobia. Wearing things around my neck, especially of a certain circumference is anxiety inducing. I had picked out a pattern and was practicing a new to me cast on, tubular. PS, its magic! Level up for Sarah! Then when I went back to look at the pattern I realized it was not the pattern I had originally wanted to do (something about a tube was all I remembered). Ah, ha! I found the pattern I did want, Infinity Cowl. Something easy and a bit mindless that I can work on at knit night or watching tv. Oh, hey. This has a provisional cast on. Another cast on I’ve never done, and one I’ve been a bit afraid of trying. It sounds hard! After watching several tutorials I thought I got the hang of the crochet cast on. I already know how to chain, sort of. It’s just my hand issues that stop me from actually being able to crochet. I go to do it. Not as easy at they make it look. I get frustrated. There’s much swearing. I try bamboo hook instead of metal. More frustration and more swearing. I try a different yarn. Ask Mr. Geek for help. He casts on the number of stitches the pattern calls for no problem. Well, now spurned by my stubbornness I grab a different yarn, the metal crochet hook with a plastic handle and the knitting needle. By gum! I’m going to do this! Intellectually I know what I need to do, which is why I was getting so frustrated by the yarn twisting around the knitting needle, my hands not cooperating, you name it. Success! To use a RPG reference, it’s like I saved up all my XP to put more in my crafts skills. Leveling up, succeeded!

 

Leave a Reply

